As a new mother, what is the easiest thing to do? Go for coffee… or is it?

When I first gave birth to my son, my house was a disaster, I didn’t want to have people over, and often they didn’t want to have me over either for the same reason.  Solution?  Meet for coffee!  But where to go?  Many places we tried to go to were too small for two strollers, only had one high chair, or where full of students trying to study (bad stares when my baby made a peep were not welcome in my hormonal state!)

I then learned of three places in Vancouver that are branded “kid friendly” two on the west side of Vancouver and one on the east side.  I’m going to start on the east side today and move west in future blog posts.

Little Nest located just off Commercial Drive (1716 Charles St.) is a great place to go.  Not only is it large enough for many, many strollers, there are tonnes of high chairs AND there is a kids play area.  But lets talk about the food for a minute.  Little Nest is open for breakfast and lunch.  The breakfast is delicious, my favorite is scrambled eggs on toast soldiers.  I haven’t had lunch there myself but a girlfriend of mine has told me that the sandwiches are to die for.  The cookies are also delicious and the coffee itself?  Its not bad.  They also have a kids menu that includes favorites like mac and cheese, fruit slices, chicken noodle soup and various sandwiches.  Overall this place is a winner!

Little Nest is open: 7 days a week! 9am-4pm (kitchen closes 3pm every day).

Good for kids 0-5, older kids might get bored as the play area is for younger kids; however, older kids will enjoy going there for weekend breakfast or lunch!

Leave a Reply

